Support Us

About Us


The Oviedo Historical Society was organized in November 1973 by a group of citizens dedicated to the preservation of the history of the Oviedo community. The goal of the Society is the establishment of a permanent museum that will be engaged in the collecting, cataloging and storing of historical documents and artifacts relating to the History of Oviedo and the surrounding communities.
OHS Brochure – Click here to Download

• Are held at the Oviedo Woman’s Club, 414 King St, Oviedo, FL 32765
• Convene 7:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. on the third Tuesday of every month
January – Member Appreciation Dinner and Awards
February – Women’s History and Black History Month
March – Program or Field Trip
April – Student Awards Program
September – Program or Field Trip
October – Program or Field Trip
November – Veterans Recognition
December – Annual Tree Lighting at the Lawton House
(No member meetings in May, June, July, August and December)


President Dawn Jensen
Immediate Past President Desta Horner
1st Vice President  TBD – OPEN
2nd Vice President Marty Rouse
Secretary Jessica Sokoly
Treasurer Miriam Bruce
Historian Susan Pierce
Member-at-Large Eunice Mann
Member-at-Large Janet Foley



Oviedo Historical Society Memorium

“We honor these friends, neighbors, and cherished long-time members of the Oviedo Historical Society.
Their endearing commitment to the society and its history have contributed to the legacy of Oviedo,
so that future society members together with the community,
will be able to learn, love and share what it’s like to grow-up and live in a beautiful town”

Honorary Members (Deceased)

Rex Clonts
Thelma Clonts
Clara Lee Evans
John Evans
Frank Foley (PP)
Paul Hartman
Bob Huggins
George Means
Minnie Means
Paul Mikler
Virginia Mikler
Lalee Mills
Barbara Walker-Seaman
Jean Wheeler
Frank Wheeler
Nita Rawlson
Penney Olliff
EP Bruce

PP = Past President